RSS

Unit 37 Starting a Small Business

25 Aug

This was the final unit of the course. Our task was to come up with a business idea and support with a plan, cash flow forecast and a presentation. A lot of my class mates did brick and mortar businesses but I decided to base my business online, resulting in lower overheads.

This unit involves a lot of thinking and planning as well as having to structure a 12 month cash flow. At the end of it all you will have to pitch your business idea to your class and will be asked multiple questions – so you need to know your stuff!

I achieved a merit in this unit but I will not be sharing this final unit as my business plan is something I have been developing in real life. You will have to come up with your own business, try to be creative.

 
49 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2011 in Unit 37 Starting a Small Business

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

49 responses to “Unit 37 Starting a Small Business

  1. Sue Massey

    August 26, 2011 at 12:00 am

    A friend of mine just emailed me one of your articles from a while back. I read that one a few more. Really enjoy your blog. Thanks

     
  2. Luke Axten

    August 27, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    Hi Jed,

    I have loads of questions for you about this course as i’m looking to do something similar and need answers ASAP! (Course starts in less than a week and I need to apply)

    Would it be possible for you to email me?

    Luke

     
    • Jed Hatton

      August 29, 2011 at 11:11 am

      Hey Luke,

      I’d be happy to answer questions but I’d prefer it if you could ask them here so we can get a discussion going with other users 🙂

      Cheers.

       
  3. haaba

    August 28, 2011 at 4:49 am

    thank you very much for your help

     
  4. Luke Axten

    August 29, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    how many people took this course at your college? What was the ratio of male to female?

    How hard was this course in comparison to A Levels?

    Would I be able to progress onto an international business course at university after doing this course?

    Can you achieve Distinction *’s?

    How many days a week did you have to go into college?

    What have you moved onto do after this course? University? If so, which and what course? Work? If so where etc?

    Thanks,
    Luke

     
    • Jed Hatton

      August 29, 2011 at 2:13 pm

      1) It was very mixed 50:50 ratio between male and female.

      2) In comparison to A levels this course is easy, it is all coursework and most of the assignments can be completed with common sense. BTEC is the easy route to university!

      3) Yes. I know some of my class who have gone on to study international business in university and they are due to start this September.

      4) The first year we had to go in 4 days a week. The second year we had to go in 3 days a week but as a compensation we skipped lunch break and just went straight from one tutor to the other. I personally think it is better this way as there is not a lot to do at lunch.

      5) I personally haven’t decided to go to university, if you read some of my blog posts you will see I changed my career prospects and wish to do Graphic Design instead.

      I hope this answers your questions 🙂

       
  5. Luke Axten

    August 29, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    Thank a lot!

    I have two options:
    – Do this course at a college where i’ll have to get a 1 hour bus
    – Do a different course which is local which is called ‘Understanding Enterprise and Entrepreneurship’

    Do you think both courses would be suitable for going onto university and doing a business related course?

    I understand that you might not be able to answer this due to only doing the first option.

    One more thing, was it a level 3 course that you did? In the second option they’re only offering it as a level 2.

    Luke

     
    • Jed Hatton

      August 29, 2011 at 6:22 pm

      The BTEC National Diploma in Business Level 3 would be more suitable if you want to take your studies on to university and continue that route. As for the 1 hour commute, I wouldn’t worry, I too had to travel by bus. It was 40 minutes travel time, I think it is ok, gives you time to think about things. 🙂

      The ‘Understanding Enterprise and Entrepreneurship’ sounds like more of a course that will set you up to start your own business rather than university. You also said it is Level 2 which is normally considered to be GCSE standard where as Level 3 is A level standard.

      And yes, like I said above, it is a level 3 course that I studied.

       
  6. Luke Axten

    August 29, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    Thanks for everything!

     
    • Jed Hatton

      August 29, 2011 at 9:43 pm

      No problem 🙂 If you end up taking BTEC National Diploma in Business then feel free to check back for coursework. Also, tell some of your class mates about this blog, I’d appreciate it 🙂

       
  7. Luke Axten

    August 29, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    Yeah for sure. Not a problem. I really do hope to do this course but it all depends what is available to me. I will definitely let class mates know about this blog.

     
  8. Luke Axten

    August 29, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    Can I ask how many people were in your group doing this course altogether too? And did you start it alone or did you know other people doing this course too?

     
    • Jed Hatton

      August 30, 2011 at 12:16 pm

      About 17-19 in our group at the very start of the course. About 3 or 4 people dropped out as they realized the course wasn’t for them, by the end of the year we had it down to about 15 people who were actually dedicated to the course.

      There were about 3 other business groups in our college, one of them had so little students left on the course that they had to split up and join other groups. I think it is pretty normal for people to drop out in the first year, either they are too far behind on the coursework or they realize the course isn’t for them.

      I actually went on the course alone not knowing anyone but as I got grouped up I met some people from my area that I knew so I settled in ok.

       
  9. Luke Axten

    August 30, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    Great! I’m definitely doing this! Just a little nervous not knowing anyone. Thanks for the advice!

     
  10. Ace

    September 1, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    hey are your yr 1 work the new spec of edexcel??
    do you kno a place wer i cud get help fro da new spec, if its a yes…
    Thank You 🙂

     
    • Jed Hatton

      September 4, 2011 at 6:54 pm

      If I understand what you are asking, then all of my work is relevant to the new criteria. All I know is that the point system has changed regarding grade boundaries and UCAS points. 🙂

       
  11. melissa

    September 15, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    jed,

    i started this course yesterday alone i was terrified and now i have seen most of the course is group work i am evan more scared becasuse i am a very very very shy n quiet person so i dnt no wt do becasuse i wil b alone in th class how did you find ur group did ur tutor put you in groups or wt:? hw did u settle in wb xx

     
    • Jed Hatton

      September 16, 2011 at 12:26 pm

      Hey Melissa,

      Most of the course is group work but in my class our tutor gave us the option to do it alone if you we really wanted. This meant having to do more work and standing by yourself to do presentations so very rarely did anyone actually opt to do the work by themselves.

      At the start of the course our tutor would just put us in to groups based on where we were sitting using numbers to mix the groups up. Remember, the other students are on the course for the same reason you are – to achieve a good knowledge in business – don’t be afraid to discuss group work with them, they won’t bite!

      If you are as shy as you say you are then try to get group tasks such as ‘researcher’ and let others do the talking in the presentation.

      I hope this helps, if you have anymore questions don’t hesitate to write back!

       
  12. melisa

    September 16, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    thankyou il just hope for the best cos i dont no any one in my class

     
    • Jed Hatton

      September 18, 2011 at 3:45 pm

      You should be fine! If you get stuck I’d be happy to answer any of your questions. 🙂

       
  13. melissa

    September 22, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    hey iv just got three of my assignments but they two of them seem to be totaly differant to any of urs, i v got:

    unit 2 : task one, p4

    i have to write a letter to the owners of a company describing the internal and external sources

    1) describle which sources would part suit there business and i have to explain how to rais funds for the following :

    vans
    tools
    stock
    wages
    insurance

    and my second task is ;

    Unit 3: task 1 (P1,M1 AND D1)

    i have to prepare a report that :

    P1) describes how marketing techniques are used to market products in two organisation and the two organisation we have talk bout it cadburys and mcdonalds which must include

    branding, growth stratergy and relationship marketing

    M1) compare marketing techniques from both organisations using similarites and differences

    D1) evaluate the effectivness of the techniques in marketing products in one of the organisations showind examples etc

    have you done theses tasks??
    wb please

    MELISSA xx 🙂

     
    • Jed Hatton

      September 22, 2011 at 8:59 pm

      The units should have a title. If you can tell me what the title is for unit 2 and 3 then I can check if I did them on my course 🙂

       
  14. melissa

    September 24, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    cnt u jus remeber if u did them from the info i gave u ??

    unit 2 : Funding for the enterprice
    P4) Describe sources of internal and external finiance for a selected business

    in this unit we have to write a letter to the owners of the business to explain the differant external and internal sources that are avaliable to the business and describe which source would particularly suit their existing firm and the new project .

    unit 2 is the one i really dont get tbh and

    unit 3 : introduction to marketing

    in this unit i have to describe how marketing techniques are used to market products in two organisations eg, cadburys and mc donalds

    then compare marketing techniques used in marketing products

    then evaluate the effectiveness of the use of techniques in marketing products in one of the organisations

    please help 🙂

    love melissa xx

     
  15. melissa

    September 25, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    u did do a unit 2 leaflet tho dint u and that similar to what i have to do but i need to write a letter about it?? god soo confused aint gt clue wot do in me unit 2 and thas the dam one u aint done!

     
    • Jed Hatton

      September 26, 2011 at 11:34 am

      Sorry I can’t help you there as I didn’t do Unit 2: Funding for the enterprise. If you have questions just ask your tutor and they should tell you exactly what to do 🙂

      For Unit 3, take a look at my work and use it as a guide line 🙂

       
  16. melissa

    October 9, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    its unit 2: human resources

     
  17. Fatema

    November 7, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    Hi there um having dificulties dowloading the assignment
    Would you tell me how to do it step by step please?
    WOULD REALLY APPRICIATE YOUR HELP

    XX

     
    • Jed Hatton

      November 9, 2011 at 10:21 am

      Hi Fatema,

      Click the link to the download.
      This should take you to Media Fire where the file is hosted.
      Try to avoid misclicking on adverts and click on “Click here to start download from MediaFire..”
      Then a box will appear asking you to save or open – you want to ‘save’ it to your desktop.
      Then extract the files using WinRAR (Download it if you haven’t already) and you should be able to view them

      I hope this helps 🙂

       
  18. Benji

    November 30, 2011 at 12:07 am

    hi mate, did you achieve merits/distinctions for unit 38?

     
    • Jed Hatton

      November 30, 2011 at 12:30 pm

      I got a pass for unit 38, it was near the end of the course and I didn’t need anything more than that to get the overall mark of DDM.

       
  19. Fatema

    December 1, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    You are so helpful!
    Thank you so much

     
    • Jed Hatton

      December 3, 2011 at 4:07 pm

      No problem, glad I could help 🙂

       
  20. Ryan Smith

    December 4, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    where is your distinction work for unit 3?

     
  21. melissa gilbert (@melissagilber10)

    January 29, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    heyy its melissa agen lol did you do unit 1 assignment 2 task three

    its called

    describe how political,legal and social factors are impacting upon the business activities of the selcted organisation and their stakeholders?
    really dont understand this task please help

     
    • Jed Hatton

      February 23, 2012 at 12:56 pm

      Hey Melissa, sorry for the late reply.

      I don’t think I did do that assignment, or at least I don’t remember doing it anyway. All assignments that I have done can be found on this blog – if it’s not there then I probably haven’t done it.

       
  22. melissa gilbert (@melissagilber10)

    February 19, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    hello ?? x

     
  23. Ryan Smith

    February 22, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    Looks like Jed does not post anymore 😦

     
    • Jed Hatton

      February 23, 2012 at 1:00 pm

      haha I do still check up on here, I get an email each time someone comments. I’ve been super busy recently.

      Anyway, about the distinction criteria for unit 3 – I just downloaded it and saw that there was infact no distinction criteria included. I must have forgotten to put them in the folder, which is a shame as I haven’t got any of the work on my PC any more. 😦

      Sorry about that.

       
  24. A. N

    May 25, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    You are a Legend.

     
  25. Jilly Kelly

    July 16, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    Hi Jed
    I don’t suppose you have the actual assignments that your tutors would have given you do you. As a teacher this would be very useful. I am using some of your work as exemplar work for my students and was just interested how they structured their assignments. I know you haven’t posted it but do you have a copy of your business plan so I can develop a template for the more challenging students… I promise you it would be used purely for teaching purposes

     
  26. Jamie T

    July 20, 2012 at 4:43 am

    Hi Jed
    I Am going to be commencing the Level 3 Btec Extended Diploma in Business Studies in September. Other that your own personal Assignments could you describe and give me a good detailed paragraph on what the Accountancy Unit is Like. I am Absolutely Shite at Mathematics and i am quite afraid on how the unit will turn out (I will probably fail it) but i am not the best with equations,sums,predictions or maths in general. I would appreciate your help

    Many Thanks, Jamie. out

     
  27. Jason

    September 13, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    Hello Jed
    I started my btec diploma 3 cousework today.
    and the first unit my teacher asked me to produce is starting a small business. You dont have it on your page. So would you be able to send me your starting a small business coursework on to my email please.

    I really need to get distinction on this subject inorder to do the course i want at University. So could you please send me your starting a small coursework on my email. That would help me a lot and i would get idea from it.

    And btw i have to say you are one helpfull person.

    Thanks

     
  28. Anon

    October 4, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    id like to really thank you for the help you provide for FREE! resources are limited these days for us college kids! i really enjoyed your blog Top Man goodluck with the future hope you get everything

     
  29. business4jibu

    February 22, 2013 at 4:04 pm

    Hello everyone,

    Have anyone got Unit 17 (Business/Workplace Training)?

    I really need help with this unique unit … lol

    Please let me know

     
  30. gc

    November 29, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    hi im thinking of doing this course but im not 100% sure… i was wondering if you found the course interesting and beneficial do you think a levels would be better?
    also what are lessons like does the teacher teach you stuff over a few days then you have to do an assignment or do you have to be constantly doing assignments and is it very independent and self taught or just like school where the teacher goes through the work? also was it challenging or was it too easy..?
    do you recommend doing the course?
    and what was the things you really enjoyed/liked about the course and the things that you did not like? sorry for my 1000 questions lol… thankyou:)

     
    • Kass

      November 30, 2013 at 3:50 am

      Hey gc drop me an email tomorrow at kasim.balaal@hotmail.co.uk and il write you my 2 cents on my opinion of the course

       
  31. mariam

    September 11, 2014 at 6:36 pm

    Hi this is my second year and I have only Achieved a double pass for year 1 this year I would really like to do the distincion work do you know anyone who is willing to give me their second year Work who has achieved it to a distincion please help thanks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
